Blog Post Numero Uno: New Year’s Resolutions

Blog

Hooray!! The first real post has arrived!

It’s time to PARTY ‘TIL WE’RE PURPLE!*

birthday-celebration-despicable-me-minions-35194953-284-177

So now you have TWO reasons to celebrate tonight!

Now for the good stuff:

Unless you’re living under a rock (see *), you know that 2014 is coming to a close and that 2015 is waiting, full of possibilities. Many of you have probably made New Year’s resolutions in order to make the most out of the opportunities that 2015 will be awarding, and I am no exception.

Here are a few of mine:

1) I often have made the promise that I am going to write in my running log EVERY SINGLE DAY. If any of you are at all like me, you’re super vigilant about keeping track of it for the first few days, but this tops out at maybe a week or two. Perhaps homework piles up or a routine changes, and you put off writing in your log until the next day. And then you put it off again. And again. And again. You convince yourself that you’ll remember all of your workouts until you get around to writing it all down. More time passes, and finally, you’ve forgotten everything. Thus ends another fruitless attempt at keeping a training log.

From now on, I WILL write in my training log EVERY SINGLE DAY. Right after I brush my teeth before bed, no excuses.

2) I am awful about taking my iron. After taking it for a few days, my stomach really starts to hurt, so I inevitably stop taking it (sound familiar… see #1). Once taking iron falls out of my normal routine, I completely forget about it and go weeks between taking a dose.

From now on, I WILL take my iron consistently, even when I have to stop taking it for a few days to manage my stomach.

3) I am an extremely competitive person. I turn almost everything I do into a competition. I am not going to say that this is completely bad – because it’s not – but it definitely creates some problems. I too often compare myself to other people, to other runners. I think that this has hindered my performance in the past, and even played a role in causing my injury this past cross country season.

From now on, I am going to focus on myself. I am not going to let what I have heard about how other people are training affect what is the best training method for me, and I am not going to be fearful of the performances that I see other people throw down.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

4) I have a Poptart problem.

From now on, I WILL limit myself to one Poptart (two pastries) every three days.

Actually, nahh, probably not.

I hope you’ve all made resolutions that are somewhat feasible and I wish you luck in their completion!!

See you all next year!

Erin 🙂

*Slightly adapted from the one and only Patrick Star

One thought on “Blog Post Numero Uno: New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Welcome to the world of bloggers! You’re a most welcome addition.
    When you first mentioned “iron”, I thought you were talking about an IRON, as in ironing my clothes! LOL
    Hope you’re completely healthy now, and ready to attack the indoor tracks of the world in 2015!
    Look forward to whatever you do…..tweet about….or post here!
    Good luck, and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

